The African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards 2016 Edition

Published on Wednesday 12 October, 2016 17:01:39

The Ministry of Education, Science, and Technology has been informed by AU to invite, the prospective scientists and scientific institutions from Tanzania to participate to the 2016 Edition of the UN Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards.


  • The Continental Awards which is open to all African scientists is the highest level of the programme and is managed by the Commission. The Department of Human Resources Science and Technology is responsible for implementing the Continental Scientific Award. The two successful winners of the award will each receive the current prize of $ 100,000 during the Heads of States and Government Summit in January 2017. The closing date for the continental award applications in 31st October 2016.
  • The Regional level is implemented in partnership with the Regional Economic Communities (RECs). It is aimed at promoting the participation of African women in Science, Technology and Innovation. The Commission organizes the awards ceremony for the two winners per region who receive the current prize of $ 20,000 each. The closing date for the regional award is October 31st, 2016.
  • The AU-The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) National Young Scientists Award is implemented at the National level by member States who have signed a tripartite agreement with TWAS and the AU Commission. They implement the programme through the National Academy of Science or by the National Research Council according to the signed agreement within the stipulated time-frame. They then submit the two profiles of the winners to TWAS in order to claim the current prize of $2,000 each. The Agreement and further information can be obtained from TWAS via e- mail:

The information and the rules of procedure for the programme are available on the AU website: For any further enquiries, kindly contact Dr. Mahama Ouedraogo, Head of Science and Technology Division through e-mail: The prospective scientists and scientific institutions at United Republic of Tanzania are encouraged to compete for the AU Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards.

Government Communication Unit

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology

Read 17806 times


  • Name:    Permanent Secretary
  • Address: Government City
  • Mtumba Area - Afya Street
  •               P.O.Box 10
  •               40479 Dodoma
  • Tel:        +255 26 216 0270               
  •                +255 737 962 965
  • Email:
  • Zonal SQA Offices Contacts