Published on Tuesday 05 November, 2019 12:45:15

Secondary Education Quality Improvement Programme (SEQUIP)


The Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (MoEST) and President’s Office –Regional Administration Local Government (PO-RALG) in collaboration with the World Bank is preparing a five years program for secondary education improvement, “Secondary Education Quality Improvement Program (SEQUIP)”. This program will provide financial support to increase access to secondary education across the country and in its 184 Councils. The Program’s objective is to increase access to secondary education, provide

The implementing Government Agencies are Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (MoEST) and the President’s Office – Regional Administration and Local Government (PO-RALG). Both Ministries are responsible for implementation of school-level education activities through the Local Government Authority (LGA). One of the key components to be implemented through SEQUIP is facilitating access to secondary schools and bringing schools closer to communities. The project plans to support construction of 1000 new schools and rehabilitation of additional facilities at existing secondary schools. A need and evidence-based approach will be used in identification and selecting locations and schools that will benefit.

The Implementing Government Agencies (MoEST and PO-RALG), have prepared five Environmental and Social Safeguard instruments which will guide implementation of SEQUIP, in alignment with the 2018 World Bank Environmental and Social Framework. The instruments include:-

  1. Vulnerable Group Planning Framework,
  2. Stakeholders’ Engagement Plan,
  3. Resettlement Action Plan,
  4. Environmental and Social Management Framework and
  5. Environmental and Social Commitment Plan.

The five instruments identify how risks will be mitigated and prevented, during project implementation. 

For further enquires contact: Tabitha Etutu (MoEST) or Tulinagwe Ngonile (PO-RALG) .

{jd_file file==417}

{jd_file file==419}

{jd_file file==413}

{jd_file file==411}

{jd_file file==414}


Read 4055 times


  • Name:    Permanent Secretary
  • Address: Government City
  • Mtumba Area - Afya Street
  •               P.O.Box 10
  •               40479 Dodoma
  • Tel:        +255 26 296 3533
  • Email:
  • Zonal SQA Offices Contacts
Tanzania Census 2022